HOHO Delhi Tourism Guide | History of Delhi

[su_box title=”History of Delhi”] history delhi

Delhi, the capital of India has a strong historical background. It was ruled by some of the most powerful emperors in Indian history.

The rich lands of Delhi have lured men for centuries. A dive into history tells us that on these banks of river Yamuna, many came to plunder, while others, with ambitions to rule Hindustan made it their capital.

It is a city of cities, built and destroyed several times. The Legend of Mahabharata talks about the beauty and wealth of the mighty Indraprastha, which over five thousand years ago, was built by Pandavas as their capital in the same region. However, archaeological evidence suggests that the city of Lal Kot founded by Tomar rulers in 786 AD, was the first city of Delhi.


Enquire Now[chat]





[su_box title=”Ruling Dynasties of Delhi”] Sher_Shah_Suri_by_Breshna

      1. Pandavas: In the Mahabharata, a Hindu epic text, the Pandava are the five acknowledged sons of Pandu, by his two wives Kunti who was a Yadava and Madri who was the princess of Madra. Their names are Yudhishthira, Bhima, Arjuna, Nakula and Sahadeva. All five brothers were married to the same woman, Draupadi.
      2. Tomar Rajput Dynasty: Tomara (also called Tomar, Tomer, Tanwar and Tuar) is a clan, some members of which ruled parts of North India at different times. People belonging to the Tomara clan are found among the Rajputs, Jats and Gurjars of northern India.
      3. Rajput Chauhan Dynasty: Rai Pithora, commonly known as Prithviraj Chauhan (1149–1192 CE), was a Rajput king of the Chauhan dynasty, who ruled the kingdoms of Ajmer and Delhi in northern India during the latter half of the 12th century.
      4.  Ghorid Dynasty: Sultan Mu’izzuddīn Muḥammad Bin Sām of Ghor attacked Delhi multiple times and finally captured Prithvi Raj Chauhan. He was ruling Delhi from his city of Ghazni and after his death, the seat was passed to his slave Qutubuddin Aibak, who started the Slave/Mamluk Dynasty.
      5. Mamluk (Slave Dynasty) Dynasty:  It was directed into Northern India by Qutb-ud-din Aybak, who later built Qutab Minar.  He was a Turkic general from Central Asia. The Mamluk Dynasty ruled from 1206 to 1290; it was the first of five unrelated dynasties to rule as the Delhi Sultanate till 1526.
      6. Khilji dynasty:  A Muslim dynasty of Turkic origin, which ruled large parts of South Asia between 1290 and 1320. It was founded by Jalal ud din Firuz Khilji and became the second dynasty to rule the Delhi SulWeeks_Edwin_Gate_Of_The_Fortress_At_Agra_Indiatanate of India.
      7. Tughlaq dynasty:  It was a Muslim dynasty of Turkic origin which ruled over the Delhi sultanate in medieval India. Its reign started in 1320 in Delhi when Ghazi Malik assumed the throne under the title of Ghiyath al-Din Tughluq.
      8. Lodi dynasty (Lodhi): was an Afghan dynasty that ruled Delhi Sultanate from 1451 to 1526. It was founded by Bahlul Khan Lodi when he replaced the Sayyid dynasty and ruled the Empire in northern India.
      9. Mughal Dynasty: The reign of Shah Jahan, the fifth emperor, between 1628–58 was the golden age of Mughal Dynasty. He erected several large monuments, the best known of which is the Taj Mahal at Agra, as well as the Moti Masjid, Agra, the Red Fort in De
      10. lhi, the Jama Masjid, Delhi.
      11. Suri Dynasty: Sher Shah Suri (1486 – 22 May 1545)was the founder of the Sur Empire in North India, with its capital at Delhi. An ethnic Pashtun, Sher Shah took control of the Mughal Empire in 1540.
      12. Hindu Dynasty
      13. East India Company: Mughals ruled Delhi in succession starting from Qutab-ub-din to Khiljis, Tughlaqs . The city of Delhi passed on to the hands of the British in 1803 AD. It was only in 1911, when the capital of British empire was shifted from Calcutta to Delhi, that Delhi got its present prestige.
      14. Democratic India


[su_box title=”What was the old name of delhi?”]

Shah Jahan built the seventh city of Delhi that bears his name Shahjahanabad, which served as the capital of the Mughal Empire from 1638 and is today known as the Old City or Old Delhi.


[su_box title=”Who is the founder of Delhi?”]

‘Dhili’ was founded by the Tomara ruler, Anangpal according to Vibudh Shridhar and other later authors. Lal Kot built by the Tomar was renamed Qila Rai Pithora after Prithvi Raj Chauhan (also known as Rai Pithora). It was a thirteen-gated fort in Delhi


[su_box title=”Which Mughal Emperor shifted his capital from Agra to Delhi?”]

The Mughal emperor Akbar moved his capital away from Delhi and his successor, Jahangir, then moved his capital to Agra. City Shahjahanabad (The City of Shah Jahan, Old Delhi): The Mughal emperor Shah Jahan, the grandson of Akbar, started building his new capital, what is now called Old Delhi, in 1638.



[su_box title=”Delhi City Travel Guide”] HOHO-DELHI-TRAVEL-GUIDE

HOHO Delhi Tour Guide:

Equip your self with useful information before you embark your journey to Delhi.

Enquire Now  [chat]


[su_box title=”Other Great Resources for History of Delhi”]

Delhi Timeline

Delhi History Wiki


Author: Surojit Ghosh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>